Thursday, March 5, 2015

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy
Author: Karen Foxlee
Publisher: Random House Children's
ISBN: 9780385753548
Genre: Children, Young Adult, Fantasy

About the Book:
A modern-day fairy tale set in a mysterious museum that is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Blue Balliett.

Unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.

As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.
About the Author and Illustrator:

KAREN FOXLEE is the author of two young adult novels, The Anatomy of Wings and The Midnight Dress. She lives in Gympie, Australia, with her daughter.

YOKO TANAKA has illustrated children's books by Kate DiCamillo, Sara Pennypacker, R.L. LaFevers, Laura Godwin, and Keith McGowan.

My Thoughts:

"Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy" is truly a charming and enchanting book that will delight all audiences - not only the younger sect. Well written, this novel was impossible to put aside until it was finished. I adored Ophelia and when she happens upon the Marvelous Boy (whom I also was enchanted by), all the pieces of the puzzle start falling together. She now understands her father's actions, the wicked "step mother", why things are happening the way they are...

Well described as a modern-day fairy tale, this book has all the elements of one - magic, mystery, good -vs- evil, a character that needs rescued and a hero. Unlike many of the other stories I've read, this one has a gender role reversal with the female being the strong character.

If there is one book you'd love to pick up to get lost in, this is the one. Yes, it is written for middle grade, but it seems that it is geared towards many ages. Between the beautiful prose and the tale, it was probably my favorite read of 2014. Make sure to add this one to your must reads list!

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley courtesy of the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, but instead, one that gives my honest opinion.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails

AddThis Share Buttons